BRM Guide Flag

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BRM Guide Flag

I'm new to BRM and just purchased a beautiful Porsche MoMo. Running on our wood club track is a real challenge as the guide flag seems way undersized for the weight and power of this car. After a few crashes into the wall and a healthy dose of CA I've decided to not ruin this car until I can find a better guide. Yes, I have shimmed the stock guide down as far as I can. It seems that the Deep wood guides s-026sw are completely out of stock everywhere. Can anyone help? Many thanks in advance.

The wood track guide is not in production now.

The wood track guide is not in production however we race these cars hard on the standard guide. What type of track are you running on. What motor are you running, what tires, all of these things affect the handling and set up required to make the BRM car run well. Also what tires are you running on the front, as the low profile tires will dramatically change the handling of a BRM car. Plus the weight kits make a huge difference, especially if you are running on a high grip, and or fast track.
    We ran with the slip on Rubber tires with the red and purple motor at around 200 grams. If you are running the black motor a minimum to start at is 200 grams, and probably a little more.

If you can tell me what track, tires, motor set up you are running I can give better advise.

I do not see a need for a deeper guide, but I would run the silver braid not the thick copper braid. Plus get the front of the chassis as low as you can with the low profile front tires.

One more thing how does the car crash, as this tells you a lot about set up. Does it de-slot from the front and go straight on, does it bicycle up onto 2 wheels then de-slot, or does it slide out from the rear first.
    Alan Smith
    SCI Owner.
    www.scaleracing.com
    www.slotcarillustrated.com
    www.facebook.com/scaleracingcenter
    www.132slotcar.us

1-253-255-1807

Comment