Confused on digital and extension tracks

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Confused on digital and extension tracks

I am new to slot racing and wanted to get a set and some extension tracks for my son for Christmas.

After reading about different brands today, it seems like Scalextric would be our best option, but I am confused on a few points. Based on the reviews and writeups here, I definitely want to get a "Scalextric 1:32 Digital Advanced 6 Car Powerbase" and go the digital route...

My confusion comes though when I look at sets like the "Scalextric C8511 Track Extension Pack". If I get one of these will I then have to get a "Scalextric 1:32 Start Converter Track Pack" for each peice that comes with it to make it work? If so, that seems expensive. I couldn't find any digital-only extension packs so it seems like I am missing something. How do I know which tracks/extension sets would need the convertor? My goal was to get the 6 car powerbase and then buy some extensions so my son could build out his own tracks.

Thanks for any help!

The track extension packs are made of Sport track, which is compatible with the Sport Digital track. Only the special digital pieces are "digital". All the pieces in between are the same as the analog track.

You do not need any conversion pieces. The pack you mentioned is if you got a Start set (not a starter set), which has a different track type. Scalextric stopped making new sets in that line, anyway.

If you get any Scalextric Sport analog set, you'll get track you can use with the digital power base. Your best bet, however, is to get a digital set, even just a 2 car one, and add in the C7042 "APB" to replace the base the set comes with. Then, add more track and cars as you can.

Try to avoid getting a lot of sets, because the track is going to be all the same, and you'll want more of the other types of track, especially the different radius turns, and different length straights to help make things meet up.