Converting SCXD cars back to analog

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Converting SCXD cars back to analog

I was the winner on that auction site of 3 SCX Ferrari's and a Cupra and what was not disclosed on the listing was that the cars are digital. Is there any simple way of converting these back to Analog and if so is this a big expense?

Regards

I'm no expert on this, but surely if you run the lead wires directly from the pickup to the motor this ought to work? Getting the lights to function could be a little more complex but not much. You can buy replacement silicone lead wire in spools from places like Slot Car Corner.

No doubt others out there who have done this will have more and better advice, but the principle should be straightforward enough.

Comment

It depends on the year, but most SCXD cars I've seen you can literally just pop the digital chip stuff out. At worst you'd need to replace the guide with a non-digital one, but I think those will still work fine on a standard track. Their system is actually pretty clever from a modular standpoint. Open them up and take a look. Pop out the digital chip from the front and see what's left. You can then sell the chips for $10 or so and make enough for another car while making some SCXD people happy with cheaper chips.

Comment

Being an SCXd guy, I can tell you its not gonna be that easy. Yes, the chip pops out, but the chip has the pickup legs on it that touch the guide brushes. If you don't mind soldering the wires from the guide to the motors, then its no problem, but the lights will have to be resoldered to the same motor leads. The 2 easiest solutions are: 1) return for refund if possible or 2) Leave the chip in and solder wires from the copper pickup tabs to the motor tabs on the rear of the chip, bypassing the chip functions. This allows easy guide replacement, and the pickup tabs for the lights will still touch the chip connectors. Hope this helps, if you need pics let me know.