Racing Carrera 143 without magnets ?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Racing Carrera 143 without magnets ?

Can 143 Carrera cars be raced without magnetic down force. I am a gravity only driver and am thinking about purchasing a Carrera 143 set . Of course I will be removing the loop and adding several sections as well !
    Thanks in advanced : Al

They can, just not very well without a bit of tune-up. There are a lot of 1/43 no-mag racers on SCI that can help out with that, though.

Comment

Like MrFlippant said they sure can run without magnets

1- Get a good variable power supply so that you can reduce the voltage (a lot on some cars)
      You can also use diodes in series to reduce voltage at the controllers or power supply output

2- Don't use any of the Carrera Go starting track or at least remove all the caps resistances from the starting track & re-wire the power supply from there
      If you can , don't use the Carrera Go power supply they are not good as soon as you ask for more current like for Artin cars the power supply will just cut off a few seconds after just a few laps

3- Get higher ohms controllers like 60-70 ohms which would give you a slightly slower acceleration but a better control through the curves

4- Add weights inside the chassis as much as the car needed

5- Have the track & tires really clean without any dust this make a really big difference , you can use masking tape to remove dust from the cars tires

6- If you want to mod the cars for a better handling you could always add a guide flag to replace the guide pin (lots of works on some cars)
      if you keep the guide pins , spread the rear braids outward

7- Have fun!

Mikey
      Last edited by MikeySlotCars; 07-02-2017, 01:51 PM.

Comment

Mikey, are there tire replacement or preparation options other than cleaning?

Comment

De-magnetizing 143 Carrera cars !