X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not a digital guy

Hey

I could use your expert advice - I'm new to Digital systems for 1/32
    Opinions or comments welcome. Links to comparisons would be useful.
    Any preferences?

Thanks

MB

Try this link but there are many others too.

If you have the room, Carrera is the way to go IMO.

Digital

Bruce

Comment

As much as I enjoy those polls, they're not indicative of anything more than what systems the people who use this forum and take polls have. But, it does give a good indication of which systems are the most popular.

As Bruce said, if you have the space for it, Carrera is a great system. I don't have the space for a permanent Carrera track, so Scalextric is the better choice for me. I've also grown quite accustomed to some of the features it supports that Carrera does not. The same can be said by people who prefer Carrera. Either way, you won't regret it.

Comment

Where are you from and what do those you race with run on?

For me, it was Scaley because of space at first and the availability at my LHS. Stayed because of the features and that is what those here that I "race" with use.

Comment

It really depends on a lot of requirements. Scalextric is what I use. It's fine, good for small tracks and available easily in the UK. It will not run more than 6 cars. If you want to run more than 6 cars you probably need Slot.It Oxygen or Scorpius. Both are much more expensive than Scalextric by a long margin.
          Carrara is not that popular in the UK and is not the best for small tracks (8 ft by 6 ft type small) as it is bigger track and wider radius corners.

The availability of Race management systems is again an issue if you need one. I use SSDC but there is RCS64 again both available for Scalextric. Scorpius and Slot.it Oxygen are playing catch up but are not there yet. They may by their nature end up better but again at a price.