This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• All Digital!

I plan to explore the digital world by putting up digital racetracks from all mfg. in my slot raceway. I have some knowledge of slot cars and will provide observations and request constructive comments from interested parties.

I thank SCI & Alan Smith for this opportunity and credit Alan's promotional abilities to help keep my eye on 1/32 home set goods.

Here are links to mfg. of digital systems.

www.scx-cars.co.uk/digital.php4 &
    www.scxdigitalsystem.com/ (this has a great video clip explaining the new digital system - its no wonder these sets are selling quite well!)

Carrera
    www.carrera-toys.de/3018.0.html?&L=1

Scalextric
    www.scalextric-usa.com/sc...igital.asp

Ninco plans their release in 2005.
    www.ninco.com/index2.php (check their news releases available in PDF)

All products I've used are great fun but we hope the mfg. put it into high gear with availability of accessories.

I had the Carrera Evolution PRO-X 30100 circuit set up for about 1 week. It was used and abused for a 1 day 1 year anniversary event and 4 cars wound up with broke guides in about 5 hours of relatively unsupervised use. We were able to fix 2 guides with JB weld as they were just cracked (seriously) but it was a real downside. The European direction of travel (clockwise) for a Stock Car set is a bit odd. The nicely detailed cars are a delight to watch and race but the #99 car is noticeably faster than the #7 car. (Cars weigh 114 grams). The 4x13' banked oval is a good layout to become acquainted with a new system. Although the set is currently back in the box it will be resurrected very soon :o