lap timer 2000

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• lap timer 2000

Ive been using this system for a few yrs with no problem. But recently fired every thing up and it wasn't counting. i use the printer port setup... i seem to be getting 4 volts at the irs and i just cant figure it out.. is there a way to test the irs themselves??? but i cant imagine they would all 4 go out at the same time. i have it set on line port 1 and have tried it on the other 2

any ideas appreciated

jeff

You did not say what you were using for sensors, if you are using dead strips that can be risky. If the track voltage gets to the computer port that will get burned out. You can test the port by disconnecting whatever sensors you are using and shorting across the input for each lane with a 150 ohm resistor, be sure to use a resistor, a dead short that is applied for more than an instant will also burn out the port. If your printer port turns out to be damaged you could switch to the serial port, you would probably have to use a different plug.

Comment

Rich, I think Jeff's using infrared sensors. He mentioned "irs".

Jeff, I know that the infrared sensors can be used with a desk lamp placed right over the track so that might be something you could try. If counts get triggered under a desk lamp, then your infrareds blew out.

I have a friend with goggles that allow him to "see" infrared but that's usually less commonly available than a desk lamp.

Comment

Since he is using IR sensors it is very unlikely that the port is not working, but it would not hurt to confirm that.