Round Rail vs Braid

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Round Rail vs Braid

I've done 3-4 tracks using round rail and now I'm pretty far along my first braided track. I'm an amateur builder and although all my working tracks ran great for me odds are they weren't nearly good enough for "serious" racers. Still, I thought it might be worth sharing my opinions on the two rail types.

In short I'll probably be using braid from here on out in future builds. My primary concern is the ease of the track build and it is much easier to lay braid than it is to lay down the round rail. Although I think my choice is going to be braid, round rail served me very well and is certainly a viable choice for any builder.

Here are some detailed comparisons in the order that they are most important to me:

Ease of track build
    The winner here is braid by far.

It's a lot more forgiving on all fronts. The round rail I used wanted to "kink" so the longer track lengths got the harder to lay the rail got. I use MDF and I found higher magnet cars would pull the rail out of the pocket and essentially ruin the track. I did have a possible workaround to this issue as its believed the CA glue was absorbing into the MDF rather than binding the rail to the pocket. If correct, the workaround would add a step but solve the problem. The round rail also required reasonable "force" to get it rolled into the pocket. And the CA glue gets pretty much everywhere. Making both rail cleanup and cleaning up fingers and the like a pain.