New guy from Quebec, Canada

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New guy from Quebec, Canada

Hey, my name is Sylvain and i'm completely new to this slot car fun even though i'm 28. I'm a truck driver and a married man with a 2 years old son who's crazy about everything that has 4 wheels or more like is dad! In my free time, i modify my soon to be race prep 1996 Toyota Tercel and go to the local track for some Auto-X/lapping... But, now i can also say that i've become a slot car junkie!!!

All i can say is: RACING TIME!!!!

Last week i got my hand on 2 sets of "figure 8" Speedtrax from Artin for 4$. One is old with 2 Porche 930 and one set is brand new with 2 "stock cars".

I decided to mate them together to built a more bigger track.

Here's a couple of pictures!

The red 930 is my favorite... the car handles great and stick to the track like crazy. So i decided to mod it a bit...

I removed the pelling decals, cleaned the tires and moved the rear axle to the passenger side. This enables me to take on the last corner at full speed on lane 1 without skidding!

Notice the axle shift.

So yeah, it's lots of fun... but it's already not enough!

I want to build a huge wooden 3 lane 2-way digital track with computer lap counter & time, sector times, speed sensors and full scenery.

So that's it for now... i got alot to read on this forum to get this project moving. I'll be asking question later...

... sorry, it's not true... i got 2 questions for starters:

1. Is there anybody on this forum from Quebec in Canada or really close to the border of Quebec near Montreal?

2. I know it must sound stupid, but is there a Toyota Tercel slot car or i'll have to create one?

Thanks!

Hi,

I'm from Momtreal, watching game 5 of the Habs vs Caps game (habs up 2-1! Go habs). I live in Pointe Claire. I had an HO track when I was 8. I'm now 40, last Christmas I put up a 10$ Artin clone track that I got at a garage sale and the bug got me again.