Aston Martin DBR-1 Project

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aston Martin DBR-1 Project

OK, I started with a 38 gram Ocar body of the Aston Martin DBR-1. With lots of sanding, filing and cutting, I now have it down to a slim and trim 23 grams. There is still more I can take out but for now, I'll let that rest.

Last edited by rixvette; 08-13-2011, 06:40 PM.

Nice.....

I presume the blue markings are cut lines?

regards

Comment

No, John. They are there to show me where the fender bulges stop. That is so I can see them from the other side when I hold the body up to the light. The thickness caliper also helps me keep it consistent. Some places are still over 3/32" but for the most part, it is the same thickness. I have some time yet before it will get a mold so I can double check everything then. I have a master for the grill bars waiting on the side too. The interior will be rolled and pleated bucket seats and a small flat dash. The top of the dash is part of the body.
      I have to evaluate how far off the dimensions are before I decide to chop, cut and rebuild it.
      Last edited by rixvette; 08-17-2011, 05:05 AM.

Comment

RV, love the DBR-1, I think it was Stirling Moss who said it was the best handling car he ever drove. And, I think the original is one of the best looking cars ever built, but that Ocar body looks way to "plump" to me. I think you have a real challenge ahead of you to get it looking right. I'm definitely on your side on this one, good luck with it.

Jim

Comment

The thickness caliper also helps
          I use the eyechrometer and the forefinger and thumb.
          I tend to work loosely at times and my builds can suffer.
          Each new build I set out to be more precise but then the frenzy takes over....
          I must be more disciplined.

Comment

I use a few simple tools to try to eliminate serious problems.

Comment