AMX Javelin SST - Revell kitbash from 60's kit

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AMX Javelin SST - Revell kitbash from 60's kit

I've this week finished a long term project, I've been building this on and off for about 6 months but finally pulled my finger out and got on with it. I have to say I'm very pleased with the end result.

I realise it's not a completely accurate representation of the Trans Am car but I like to imagine that this was the less well backed privateer team having a shot at taking on the big boys!

This build was completely inspired by an article from the Electric Dreams team a few years ago and the fact that I liked Javelin's .

I was lucky enough to get hold of a 1960's Revell kit from a friend of a friend and from another friend of a friend I was given a well used Pioneer Mustang which I used as a donor for the chassis and interior.

So I put the two together and came up with this. The interior is a great fit, all I did was add some detail to the driver. The wheelbase on the chassis is maybe at most 1mm too short and I had to trim the sides but it fits pretty snugly otherwise. Decals are from Patto's Place.

Thanks,

Pete

PS, I wonder how many people will fall for the picture over on the Javelin thread in the 1/32 section
    Last edited by Pete Shepherd; 08-10-2014, 01:56 PM. Reason: Spelling

very nicely done , pete . i did a reineke . correct blue ? not a critisizim , just curious . looks lite ? might just have to do a couple T/A cars again .

jer

Comment

WOW! You couldn't ask for a closer match wheel base wise! Very nice conversion! Would love Pioneer / Scalextric to come out with one of these in factory form!

Comment

Thanks Jer and Tusco glad you like.

Regarding the blue, I think it is quite close, maybe the later cars were darker but I'm no expert.

Thanks,

Pete
        Last edited by Pete Shepherd; 08-10-2014, 02:03 PM.

Comment