SCI Logo

Scalextric USA
Pioneer Slot Cars
SCIs  MarketPlace, the online slot car mall
Carrera Slot Cars
Fly Model Car
BRM Model Cars
NINCO
MRC
AFX
Slot.it
Slot Car Illustrated Forum
  #31  
Old 05-14-2018, 01:24 PM
AJK's Avatar
AJK AJK is offline
Championship Contender
View AJK's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Only Place to live is Washington State
Posts: 1,583
Default

Bruce call Carrera they should help you with this problem!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05-15-2018, 07:48 AM
b.yingling b.yingling is offline
Top Qualifier
View b.yingling's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Westminster, Maryland
Posts: 4,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJK View Post
Bruce call Carrera they should help you with this problem!
He has a digital/analog hybrid track, with aftermarket power and his own jumper setup. There is no one at Carrera who will know as much about the problem as he does. And they will (likely) not think it is their problem to fix.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-15-2018, 07:50 AM
b.yingling b.yingling is offline
Top Qualifier
View b.yingling's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Westminster, Maryland
Posts: 4,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CincySlots View Post
Nothing totally fixed yet. Now I have cars that pulse while sitting in the pits.
Just curious. Were you able to try a different CU yet?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-15-2018, 08:02 AM
CincySlots's Avatar
CincySlots CincySlots is offline
Championship Contender
View CincySlots's Photo Album
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: at home
Posts: 2,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b.yingling View Post
He has a digital/analog hybrid track, with aftermarket power and his own jumper setup. There is no one at Carrera who will know as much about the problem as he does. And they will (likely) not think it is their problem to fix.
BINGO! It seems most Distributors don't "really" use the products. Dave was as close as we got.

Now onto the update of what I did. It seems to be working again but until I get a full grid of racers, I won't know for sure.

1-removed all the changers 1 at a time until only the pit lane entrance was left.
2-changed out the pit lane
3-changed the CU
4-changed the fuel sensor track
5-removed the Starlight bridge

My feeling is either the starlight or one of the fuel sensor track pieces. We will be running tonight. If all goes well, I'll introduce the 2nd fuel sensor back into the mix and see what happens. If that works out then I would say the Starlight was the issue somehow.

Thanks for all the ideas to fix this.

Bruce
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-15-2018, 12:01 PM
b.yingling b.yingling is offline
Top Qualifier
View b.yingling's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Westminster, Maryland
Posts: 4,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CincySlots View Post
BINGO! It seems most Distributors don't "really" use the products. Dave was as close as we got.
And as much as we loved his knowledge and his willingness to represent the hobbyist with the toy company brass- he really wouldn't have been much good for this problem, either.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-15-2018, 12:05 PM
CincySlots's Avatar
CincySlots CincySlots is offline
Championship Contender
View CincySlots's Photo Album
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: at home
Posts: 2,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b.yingling View Post
And as much as we loved his knowledge and his willingness to represent the hobbyist with the toy company brass- he really wouldn't have been much good for this problem, either.
true, my point was that he was as close as we got to a supplier that actually plays/races with the cars/track. i doubt he's ever gone beyond how carrera intended their track to be used.

Bruce
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-15-2018, 12:47 PM
b.yingling b.yingling is offline
Top Qualifier
View b.yingling's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Westminster, Maryland
Posts: 4,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CincySlots View Post
true, my point was that he was as close as we got to a supplier that actually plays/races with the cars/track. i doubt he's ever gone beyond how carrera intended their track to be used.

Bruce
I know. He is a slot car guy who works for a slot car company. There are others (Maurizio!), but Dave was one of the few representing one of the 'main' companies. First SCX, then Carrera, now Scalextric.

You and Alan are two store owners who obviously use/build/race the stuff of our hobby. But there are surprisingly few merchants and companies that make money from this stuff and do actually play with it.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 05-15-2018, 01:05 PM
CincySlots's Avatar
CincySlots CincySlots is offline
Championship Contender
View CincySlots's Photo Album
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: at home
Posts: 2,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b.yingling View Post
there are surprisingly few merchants and companies that make money from this stuff and do actually play with it.
This is true. People don't believe it but the mark up has been dwindling for years.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 05-15-2018, 01:44 PM
DRW-FJ40's Avatar
DRW-FJ40 DRW-FJ40 is offline
International Racer
View DRW-FJ40's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Narrows, VA
Posts: 520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kidvoltage View Post
I run mine at 16.4V and use the CPU to throttle the cars down a tad. All my LC's now work correctly. At lower voltages they were not. I would at least consider the Voltage level.

I think 13.5 is too low and 14.5 is right on the threshold of failure for what I have found.
Interesting... I do that now using D124 transformer with my D132 cars and haven't had any LC issues. Mine were not like Bruce's. They seemed to be linked to certain overhead lights and certain LC's but I just realized I've had no issues since I quit going back and forth between transformers.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 05-16-2018, 12:08 PM
CincySlots's Avatar
CincySlots CincySlots is offline
Championship Contender
View CincySlots's Photo Album
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: at home
Posts: 2,182
Default

after removing the Starlight and one of the fuel sensors, we ran all last night without issues. I will be adding the 2nd fuel sensor back in and see how it goes.

Bruce
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.