SCI Logo

Scalextric USA
Pioneer Slot Cars
SCIs  MarketPlace, the online slot car mall
Carrera Slot Cars
Fly Model Car
BRM Model Cars
NINCO
MRC
AFX
Slot.it
Slot Car Illustrated Forum
  #1  
Old 05-08-2018, 12:27 PM
Wicker Bill Wicker Bill is offline
International Racer
View Wicker Bill's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 539
Default One chip for (almost) all?

I know zip about digital, having stayed away because of different systems.
Could this be the answer to proprietary chips?

http://www.slotcar-today.com/en/noti...ot.it-7227.php
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2018, 01:29 PM
kidvoltage's Avatar
kidvoltage kidvoltage is offline
SCI Administrator
View kidvoltage's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 4,454
Default

No because it does not mention D124.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2018, 08:08 PM
MrFlippant's Avatar
MrFlippant MrFlippant is online now
SCI Mod / Digital Guru
View MrFlippant's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Auburn, WA, USA
Posts: 8,991
Default

Good point. Time to find out what the power rating of the chip is...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2018, 05:31 AM
b.yingling b.yingling is offline
Top Qualifier
View b.yingling's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Westminster, Maryland
Posts: 4,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrFlippant View Post
Good point. Time to find out what the power rating of the chip is...
Well, considering the fact that the stock Carrera D124 power supply will only output 3 amps (not that some people don't supply more, but you get the idea)- I don't think this chip would have any trouble running D124 cars.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2018, 06:50 AM
MrFlippant's Avatar
MrFlippant MrFlippant is online now
SCI Mod / Digital Guru
View MrFlippant's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Auburn, WA, USA
Posts: 8,991
Default

It wouldn't. The question is what the max voltage is for the chip, since D124 runs at 18v.
The Maurizios have confirmed to me that the max voltage of the chip is 16v, as per all other slot.it chips, I believe. As such, you can't plop a car with one of these chips in it onto a STANDARD D124 track.

That said, I would imagine that anyone who purchases one of these chips has already set up ways of using different voltages on their track, if only by using the D132 power supply in order to use D132 cars more controllably.

The chips should be fine to power a D124 car, and run on a D124 track at a lower voltage. But putting the chip into a car and putting it on a D124 track running at the standard 18v could damage the chip.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2018, 08:13 AM
b.yingling b.yingling is offline
Top Qualifier
View b.yingling's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Westminster, Maryland
Posts: 4,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrFlippant View Post
The question is what the max voltage is for the chip, since D124 runs at 18v.
The Maurizios have confirmed to me that the max voltage of the chip is 16v, as per all other slot.it chips, I believe. As such, you can't plop a car with one of these chips in it onto a STANDARD D124 track.
Ahh. My bad. When you said you were checking the power rating of the chip, I assumed you meant current. Very often the components in an IC chip don't have a strict 'voltage' limitation, but they all do have power limitations (which does of course include voltage).

So no good for stock D124 cars on stock power. But as you say- someone running stock D124 cars on stock power would have little reason to take an interest in this chip to begin with...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2018, 08:22 AM
MrFlippant's Avatar
MrFlippant MrFlippant is online now
SCI Mod / Digital Guru
View MrFlippant's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Auburn, WA, USA
Posts: 8,991
Default

Yeah, they're probably still OK on 18v. I've seen plenty of people running their SSD at higher voltages, and they have the same voltage "limit". But, slot.it can't say it's ok if people might end up popping chips and getting mad at them over it, not to mention the cost of replacing chips under warranty. Better to reduce the voltage than risk it. Besides, if you're putting this chip in a car, it's probably a different car or motor, and you'd WANT to reduce the voltage. 16v is already pretty high for most hard body scale racing (other than stock D124 with their slow-as-heck motors). It just means any time someone asks about this for D124, the first question is what voltage they are running their track at. If they don't know, assume 18v and tell them not to use the chip.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-16-2018, 12:09 PM
carlosinseattle's Avatar
carlosinseattle carlosinseattle is offline
Championship Contender
View carlosinseattle's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,931
Default

Another option is to use the RMS motors for Carrera D124 cars. You only need 12 volts and the cars are still TWICE as fast as stock D124 cars running at 18 volts. And amperage is based on what the motor "asks" for whereas voltage is sent to whatever is using it, so amperage shouldn't be a problem at all. Carrera Digital needs at least 12.5 volts to operate and the lane changers like around 15 volts to operate reliably so this is well within the window for D124 cars using aftermarket motors.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-17-2018, 07:43 AM
MrFlippant's Avatar
MrFlippant MrFlippant is online now
SCI Mod / Digital Guru
View MrFlippant's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Auburn, WA, USA
Posts: 8,991
Default

Of course. There are a lot of options for getting around that limitation without losing anything. Those who are most likely to install this new chip are also the same people likely to either know about these options, investigate them, or already be using them. Still, it's important that we don't give the illusion that a stock D124 user can install this chip into their stock D124 cars and run it on their stock D124 track, and not pop the chip.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-22-2018, 09:00 AM
carlosinseattle's Avatar
carlosinseattle carlosinseattle is offline
Championship Contender
View carlosinseattle's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,931
Default

never mind

Last edited by carlosinseattle; 05-22-2018 at 09:04 AM. Reason: got answer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.