SCI Logo

Scalextric USA
Pioneer Slot Cars
SCIs  MarketPlace, the online slot car mall
Carrera Slot Cars
Fly Model Car
BRM Model Cars
NINCO
MRC
AFX
Slot.it
Slot Car Illustrated Forum  

Go Back   Slot Car Illustrated Forum > Scale Racing > News & Reviews

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 08-17-2012, 08:17 AM
Al's slotracing Al's slotracing is offline
International Racer
View Al's slotracing's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 778
Default

Hey guys, understand you being a bit skeptical, but it just could be this is the start of a good new slot car producer.

Looks like they could be testing the water before committing themselves.
Either that or the web site has been launched a bit prematurely.
The web site seems to have been registered in Spain on 14 August 2012 by Paula Fontan Fernandez
New name to me, can anybody tell us more?
Could be anything from one person working at home upwards.
Not quite sure where they fit on the spectrum between models that belong more in a show case than on a track and slot cars designed to appeal to the racers.


It kinda looks genuine, although it's wise to be cautious with contacts you don't know. If you sign up you'll probably get some slot car info. About the worst risk you'd have is getting a little extra spam.
I doubt it's a "Phishing" site - if it was all they'd end up with is a smallish list of e mail addressees which wouldn't be much use to serious scammers.

Having said it kinda looks genuine, that doesn't tell you how good the product quality, customer service, value for money or delivery times may be. Yes of course they may be all excellent, unless a few punters take a bit of a risk are we going to see new producers get off the ground?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-17-2012, 08:58 AM
ElSecundo's Avatar
ElSecundo ElSecundo is offline
World Champion
View ElSecundo's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sellersburg, IN
Posts: 12,748
Default

Could be, Al, it's always possible.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-17-2012, 05:54 PM
Robert Livingston's Avatar
Robert Livingston Robert Livingston is offline
World Champion
View Robert Livingston's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Haven CT area
Posts: 16,482
Default

Whoever Stark is, they have a lot of chutzpah to ask people to submit personal info (even if it's only an e-mail address) to see, well, nothing. Stark has done nothing to establish their bona fides. What kind of products are they capable of? Who knows. Could be anything, but looks like nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-17-2012, 07:21 PM
Autorama's Avatar
Autorama Autorama is offline
International Racer
View Autorama's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin - TX
Posts: 773
Default

Stark Slot ...





....



.....



.......







!!!!!!!!!!!!!



















Last edited by Autorama; 08-17-2012 at 07:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-18-2012, 01:34 AM
Abarth Mike's Avatar
Abarth Mike Abarth Mike is offline
International Racer
View Abarth Mike's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 572
Default

It is quite common for website to ask for visitors to register before dispensing information. Maybe a test of how interested one is? Or a defense against computer phishing,

That being said I usually don't bother, They do have my email though as I sent a suggestion for a car!
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 08-18-2012, 04:04 AM
Belator's Avatar
Belator Belator is offline
National Racer
View Belator's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Great State of Texas
Posts: 356
Default Never attribute to malice...

I'm going to go with Napoleon on this one... "Never ascribe to malice that which is adequately explained by incompetence." I doubt it is any sort of phising scam, as it is easy enough to use an email alias to get past the prompt. I suspect the owner is following the misguided/ill-formed/uninformed... advice of someone on how to collect sales lead data.

Speaking of the owner, and expanding a bit on Al's previous post, here are the relevant bits from a whois lookup:

Code:
domain:                          STARK-SLOT.COM
created:                         14-Aug-2012
last-changed:                    17-Aug-2012
registration-expiration:         14-Aug-2013

nserver:                         ns63.1and1.es
nserver:                         ns64.1and1.es

status:                          CLIENT-TRANSFER-PROHIBITED

registrant-firstname:            Paula
registrant-lastname:             Fontan Fernandez
registrant-street1:              C/ Caldas de Reis
registrant-pcode:                36209
registrant-state:                PO
registrant-city:                 Vigo
registrant-ccode:                ES
registrant-phone:                +34.695126020
registrant-email:                recursos.gestiones.rg@gmail.com
BTW... Autorama... Nicely played!!!

Last edited by Belator; 08-18-2012 at 04:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-18-2012, 05:45 AM
Autorama's Avatar
Autorama Autorama is offline
International Racer
View Autorama's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin - TX
Posts: 773
Default

I'm surprised that the web address for this company is still available on the first page; Black Arrow's web address didn't last very long (http://www.slotcarillustrated.com/po...86&postcount=1) - probably because they have something to offer.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-18-2012, 11:40 PM
LowlandsRider LowlandsRider is offline
National Racer
View LowlandsRider's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al's slotracing View Post
Hey guys, understand you being a bit skeptical, but it just could be this is the start of a good new slot car producer.
Exactly, http://www.slotcar-today.com/en/noti...k-slot-796.php

Spain has over 25% unemployment, I respect the guys (and dolls) who don't sit on their *** complaining on how bad live treats them but who try to do something about it.

I thought that especially in the US of A that kind of entrepreneurship was highly admired

Well when reading some postings here I guess I am wrong
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-19-2012, 06:55 AM
ElSecundo's Avatar
ElSecundo ElSecundo is offline
World Champion
View ElSecundo's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sellersburg, IN
Posts: 12,748
Default

Entrepreneurship is admired, but you have to admit, this doesn't look particularly serious or well thought out.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-19-2012, 06:59 AM
Robert Livingston's Avatar
Robert Livingston Robert Livingston is offline
World Champion
View Robert Livingston's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Haven CT area
Posts: 16,482
Default

Sure, entrepreneurship is to be admired, but at least put something out there to excite the prospective customer. All we have here is one more car-popularity poll, with no indication whether these people have the ability to design a functioning or economically viable slot car. We got nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-24-2012, 09:31 AM
Chapman Chapman is offline
National Racer
View Chapman's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 158
Default

Some more info about Stark Slot has come up here.

First car will be a rally car, the Jean Ragnotti Renault Clio Maxi from the 1995 Monte Carlo Rally,
said to appear in about two weeks:



Other cars in the Stark Slot pipeline are the Citroen BX 4TC of Jean-Claude Andruet in the 1986
Monte Carlo Rally (below), and Colin McRae's Subaru Legacy RS from the 1992 Swedish Rally.

Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-24-2012, 10:02 AM
ElSecundo's Avatar
ElSecundo ElSecundo is offline
World Champion
View ElSecundo's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sellersburg, IN
Posts: 12,748
Default

Cool, good find! This certainly looks more serious -- and ready for market.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-24-2012, 12:22 PM
Chapman Chapman is offline
National Racer
View Chapman's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 158
Default

...and here's the Colin McRae Subaru Legacy RS from the 1992 Swedish Rally:

Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-24-2012, 02:11 PM
356speedster's Avatar
356speedster 356speedster is offline
Championship Contender
View 356speedster's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,077
Default

According to the info info on the slotcar-today blog they will make resin bodies on metal chassis with metal wheels and P/E detailing.

If the body shapes are good and the price level mentioned on other forums, around 50€, holds water, then these cars will sell out like hot cakes in Europe.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 08-24-2012, 03:52 PM
svanaken's Avatar
svanaken svanaken is offline
National Champion
View svanaken's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5,373
Default

While my interest in rally cars is minimal at best, I always like seeing new manufacturers enter the market. I am also interested in what these folks use for a chassis and running gear. 50 Euros is around $63 dollars so even with adding ten or fifteen for the cost of getting them to the US, it is not a bad price for a resin body car with photo etch details. I am assuming these are not kits.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.