MRC
AFX
Slot.it
Slot Car Illustrated Forum
Old 12-02-2014, 10:52 AM
Championship Contender
View Giddyup's Photo Album

Exclamation Help to hook up Track Relay

I'm basically a noob when it comes to electronics, so don't assume I know anything. I'm looking for some help to safely connect up some hardware we recently purchased.

I've wired 4 tracks before with a basic power relay to cut all track power, using Trackmate hardware but this project is much more advanced.

Project Context: we have some custom hardware, harnesses designed for our new 4 lane club track here: http://slotcarillustrated.com/portal...d.php?p=871301

Overall, we are running Race Coordinator (RC) as our RMS . We have a custom 3 part harness that is connected to an Arduino board that will be connected to (and powered by) our computer via a USB cable. The 3 part harness is 1 strand is our IR sensors for lap timing, another harness for our IR pit sensors to handle refueling within RC. The third harness deals with individual power relays.

So here we come to our challenge. This third harness coming off our Arduino board that needs to be connected specifically to a 4 relay. Again the idea behind the 4 relays is that the relay board will be controlled by an Arduino board via RC to cut (individual lane) power to the track when a car runs out of "fuel".

A side note on this 3rd harness, it sends a 5v signal when triggered by RC (with a multi-meter, we tested this using RC). If I’m not mistaken, then we wouldn't need to power the relay board separately then correct? As the power would flow through the harness with the 5v signals to trigger the relays via the harness connection to the GND and IN1-to-4. Right?