SCI Logo

Scalextric USA
Pioneer Slot Cars
SCIs  MarketPlace, the online slot car mall
Carrera Slot Cars
Fly Model Car
BRM Model Cars
NINCO
MRC
AFX
Slot.it
Slot Car Illustrated Forum
  #1  
Old 05-16-2016, 12:00 PM
arizona_lew arizona_lew is offline
National Racer
View arizona_lew's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 424
Question Carrera Digital Recognized?

I wonder if hardware and software combo would work with Carrera Digital 1/32 or 1/24 racing where the cars are not lane dependant and can be in either of the two lanes at any time that my setup has. In other words every time the cars pass the start line they might be in a different lane the next time around.
I know you can customize the track piece I send you. But will the software recognize Carrera Digital? Thanks

Last edited by arizona_lew; 09-19-2016 at 05:02 PM. Reason: S P E L L I N G :-)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2016, 11:50 PM
arizona_lew arizona_lew is offline
National Racer
View arizona_lew's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 424
Default

Well I heard back from them and they said as long as you cross over the sensors in your original lane (that you start the race in) it should work but they will work on it.
That would make it interesting that you would have to make sure you are in your lane before sensors at the start gate when you are finishing a lap. But would at this point I guess only work for two cars.
But Viasue might be a good choice for Carrera Analog vs say Trackmate as Viasue will put the sensors in your Carrera track for you if you send them a straight to do it. Any ideas?

Last edited by arizona_lew; 05-18-2016 at 11:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2016, 08:49 AM
VIASUE VIASUE is offline
Club Racer
View VIASUE's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: We are located in Virginia
Posts: 91
Default Digital Gets Tricky - Cars with ID chips / Frequency Control -ID

Hi y'all just thought we would chime in :>)
IF a digital car passes over a sensors it will trigger a lap for that lanes sensor..SO for digital tracks of any brand...the driver would have to be sure his car passes over the sensor for the lane he started out in for the race,,say lane 1,2,3,4,upto 16 lanes with our system...which could be quite challenging and make a race even more interesting...

HOWEVER IF the wrong car passes the wrong sensor that sensor will trigger and register a lap and time for the wrong car, for the lane sensor that was crossed...this would be a bad thing right :>(

The frequencies used to digitally control cars or lane switches and so on would not work for a sensor that would be frequency dependent for a proper accounting of which car passed a frequency related sensor....as long as the lap triggering frequency is different from the control frequencies in use for car and lane switching control...The above is the gets tricky part.

It is also tricky to involve / provide cars with ID chips that trigger and ID sensor so when the car ID chip passes any ID sensors its lap and time can be correctly accounted for . The good news with a car ID chip & ID chip sensor built into the track lanes ,,,there would be no concern to pass over the lane sensor you started out in AND no concern about passing over the incorrect lane sensor as in use currently...which means our current sensors are smart to a lesser degree than what would be needed for a True digital / ID driven lap counter / timer system.......

Both VIASUE & RC would need quite a bit of invested time, money and R&D to put such a system together....which open up a entirely new horizon for an ID driven concept..which could be used for Remote control races, slot racing , even RC airplane races as long as the transmitters and receivers are within range.

SO it is doable ...but would it be affordable, reliable, free of internal and external ill effects and transmissions ...Only R&D and hands on trial and error with digital oem tracks...

By the way an ID system could not depend on the frequencies used by the oems..Why ??Because all our work would be for nothing and of no use IF the oem's changed its frequencies for their digital slot racing systems....:>(

This is why we would need our own ID chips sensors / receivers and car ID emitter chips / transmitter chips...which also means the car owner would need to apply / install an ID chip and register it with the race software and so on and so on...IT GETS DEEP, and LIKELY COSTLY QUICK BUT not out of our reach and or realm of possibilities.

Thanks for the great subject
The VIASUE Pit Crew
PS : Please check out our New Add-On Features at www.viasue.com
Looking for sources of wifi ID chip sets ans sensors...Got any Leads ??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2016, 03:32 PM
YHR YHR is offline
International Racer
View YHR's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 586
Default

This is a prime example of why standards in the Digital slot car world are necessary. How and why would a third party develop anything based on other proprietary hardware.

However a set of standards developed for this industry would allow VIASUE and others to have a degree of confidence that what they were spending there time and effort on could not be subject to the whims and actions of another party where they could be left high and dry.

We have already seen that with SCX digital. Their failure hurts all who have invested in that system. Had standards been used then the orphaned SCX digital stuff still could be matched with the survivors equipment, and not been a total loss to those unfortunate consumers.

Hornby is in financial trouble now. So what is next. Could Scalextrics be sold off to someone who has a different vision of what slot car racing should be, hanging more consumers out to dry.

Carrera has also risen from the ashes of bankrupcy not all that long ago. The industry needs standards, and needs to work together for the benefit of all. That way if and when there are company failures the hardware can still be utilized in the systems that remain.

In this particular case standards on IR frequency and data packets would provide Viasue with the stability it needed to build a system that would work on all digital systems. The time and effort they put it has a larger appeal, and probably would make sense

For interested Carrera digital users you can download Bruce's shareware for free and it has all the timing features you need, and will time and count laps for all 6 cars on a two lane track regardless of what lane they are in. It uses the Hardware in the Carrera track and there is nothing that needs to be added.

Last edited by YHR; 05-25-2016 at 03:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-19-2016, 01:10 PM
arizona_lew arizona_lew is offline
National Racer
View arizona_lew's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 424
Default

I noticed that Viasue had recently a auction for Carrera Analog slot car racing complete setup minus the track with the installed leds. I wonder how much more it would cost to have the leds put into a standard 13inch straight provided by a customer and shipped back ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2016, 09:30 AM
VIASUE VIASUE is offline
Club Racer
View VIASUE's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: We are located in Virginia
Posts: 91
Default Kits verses 100% Plug and Play Services

If you send us your track sections we do not charge any extra to install the sensors into the track you provide...as well for the use of your track we provide 15 foot cables over the default of 10 foot cables...If you visit our domain www.viasue.com you can check out our add on features that we offer only from our domain....that is we only sell the base system and kits on ebay.

Your VIASUE Pit Crew
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2016, 11:35 PM
kidvoltage kidvoltage is offline
SCI Administrator
View kidvoltage's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 4,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YHR View Post
For interested Carrera digital users you can download Bruce's shareware for free and it has all the timing features you need, and will time and count laps for all 6 cars on a two lane track regardless of what lane they are in. It uses the Hardware in the Carrera track and there is nothing that needs to be added.
Other than the interface that is. And it's available from Digital Racing Solutions.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2016, 02:18 PM
injectorman injectorman is offline
Championship Contender
View injectorman's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YHR View Post
This is a prime example of why standards in the Digital slot car world are necessary. How and why would a third party develop anything based on other proprietary hardware.

However a set of standards developed for this industry would allow VIASUE and others to have a degree of confidence that what they were spending there time and effort on could not be subject to the whims and actions of another party where they could be left high and dry.

We have already seen that with SCX digital. Their failure hurts all who have invested in that system. Had standards been used then the orphaned SCX digital stuff still could be matched with the survivors equipment, and not been a total loss to those unfortunate consumers.

Hornby is in financial trouble now. So what is next. Could Scalextrics be sold off to someone who has a different vision of what slot car racing should be, hanging more consumers out to dry.

Carrera has also risen from the ashes of bankrupcy not all that long ago. The industry needs standards, and needs to work together for the benefit of all. That way if and when there are company failures the hardware can still be utilized in the systems that remain.

In this particular case standards on IR frequency and data packets would provide Viasue with the stability it needed to build a system that would work on all digital systems. The time and effort they put it has a larger appeal, and probably would make sense

For interested Carrera digital users you can download Bruce's shareware for free and it has all the timing features you need, and will time and count laps for all 6 cars on a two lane track regardless of what lane they are in. It uses the Hardware in the Carrera track and there is nothing that needs to be added.
Nice concept but then you limit the range of products offered by the manufactures and stifles development. Don't forget mass production leads to the cheapest option to manufacturers, not necessarily the best technology available. Currently we have multi protocol products in the market that can run analogue and digital etc. So in a real world it can't work. And again the big 3 console manufacturers prove this with all 3 having different systems for the best part of 20 years with no arguments from the masses. Why should one company share their latest innovations with their opposition.

Rick

Last edited by injectorman; 08-05-2016 at 02:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-20-2016, 08:34 AM
VIASUE VIASUE is offline
Club Racer
View VIASUE's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: We are located in Virginia
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by injeCoctorman View Post
Nice concept but then you limit the range of products offered by the manufactures and stifles development. Don't forget mass production leads to the cheapest option to manufacturers, not necessarily the best technology available. Currently we have multi protocol products in the market that can run analogue and digital etc. So in a real world it can't work. And again the big 3 console manufacturers prove this with all 3 having different systems for the best part of 20 years with no arguments from the masses. Why should one company share their latest innovations with their opposition.
eer
Rick
WE at VIASUE love these two posts :: This is our take on them ::Simply stated none of us would have what we call Personal Computers (PC's) "as we know them today" IF it was not for the mission statement of IBM "To share FREELY the advances of IBM'S technical advances" with the masses INCLUDING other OEM'S to build AFFORDABLE "Clone PC's to make it possible to have a Personal Computer in every home and workplace world wide....this would have never happened IF all technology WAS THEN OR IS NOW handled as PROPRIETARY ...not yelling just going BIG ....This concept of affordability and world wide consumption was spearheaded by leading example of FORD MOTOR COMPANY ...as one more counter to "Proprietary" anything....which by the way "Proprietary Black Listing" contributes o tmany if not all hardware and software arguments AND failures, of the past ( like modems and faxes that could not even "handshake" for a common connection due to the lack of protocols and standards back then and even today.) ..expossed again VIA this friendly post / friendly argument / and desires for a better hobby via efforts like VIASUE's and RC's...
or
To be totally fair IBM only shared enough technology to achieve their goal of a PC for every household ...but IBM rarely built systems for other oem's or vice versa at least not until IBM achieved its primary company mission in spades
OH lets not forget to thank the FORD companies efforts to mass produce for the masses , world wide....affordable cars !! We dont see Maserati's for anyone, now do we ??

In defense of the Italian Maserati its a great platform...and we would like to point out, perhaps in contrast,, the Germans back in WWII built the Biggest, strongest, Quickest, Fastest and most deadly platforms world wide.....just ask any WWII vet....HOWEVER allies S H A R I N G their advances defeated the "Proprietary Death Machine" of the Germans...THEN German advancements were back engendered and shared world wide...just ask NASA

Thanks for contributing to our forum ...its folks like you who keep our hobby going >>>-------->

GO VIASUE and RC .....YOU CAN'T LOOSE

Last edited by VIASUE; 09-20-2016 at 09:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-20-2016, 08:54 AM
VIASUE VIASUE is offline
Club Racer
View VIASUE's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: We are located in Virginia
Posts: 91
Default

Removed duplicated post

Last edited by VIASUE; 09-20-2016 at 09:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-20-2016, 09:51 AM
VIASUE VIASUE is offline
Club Racer
View VIASUE's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: We are located in Virginia
Posts: 91
Default Proprietary vs Shared Technology

Removed duplicated post

Last edited by VIASUE; 09-20-2016 at 09:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-22-2016, 01:22 PM
daufderh daufderh is offline
Championship Contender
View daufderh's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oakton, VA
Posts: 1,424
Default

For what its worth, I briefly looked into supporting Carrera Digital in RCD (Race Coordinator Digital). However the only documentation I found online about the protocol was a translation from German and hard for my little brain to read. Couple that with the fact that I don't have the setup to do testing and it just doesn't seem worth my effort to support.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-20-2016, 01:07 PM
Indymatt Indymatt is offline
Novice Racer
View Indymatt's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 31
Default

Could you not use a basic 'transponder' system, like they do in rc cars and real race cars?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-21-2016, 06:38 AM
MrFlippant MrFlippant is offline
SCI Mod / Digital Guru
View MrFlippant's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Auburn, WA, USA
Posts: 9,134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Indymatt View Post
Could you not use a basic 'transponder' system, like they do in rc cars and real race cars?
Digital cars already transmit their identification. In this case, Viasue does not have a corresponding receiver.

I'm still not sure why this is needed, though. Without the control unit, the cars are not "digital" cars, they're just analog and will count laps on any analog lap counter. WITH the control unit, there's already a receiver with which laps may be counted and timed. Unless you're wanting the Viasue lap counting software to become Carrera Digital compatible, you'd still need the Carrera Digital hardware and PC interface cable.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-21-2016, 08:52 AM
32lbKING 32lbKING is offline
International Racer
View 32lbKING's Photo Album
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: base of thumb,mid-michigan
Posts: 871
Default

We have been running some Carrera D/124 cars at Cloverleaf in Michigan.Both the wood track and the Carrera track are analog,and we have to bypass the digital chip in order for laps to be counted.With the chip connected and in analog mode the laps are not counted.The wood track is positive polarity,and I'm pretty sure the Carrera track is too.
I am not sure what timing software is being used.I will find out and post it.

Randy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   
  •   

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.