MRC
AFX
Slot.it
Slot Car Illustrated Forum
Old 10-22-2008, 11:38 AM
Club Racer
View lebTAZ's Photo Album

Default Dead Strip timing

I am just getting into HO racing and am in the process of building a small 4' x 8' layout with AFX track. I have been trying to decide what I want to do for lap timing and have a question about dead strips. I have read that the easiest way to create a dead strip for an HO track is to take a short section and remove enough rail that it does not make contact with the previous or next section. My question is how long does the track section need to be? Will a 3" section be enough or do I need to go with a 6" section? The layout I am building is the one that Gregory Braun has on his site that uses the Super International and 4-way Split track sets. I plan on having the lap counter in the middle of the main straight so it will be the fastest place on the track.
Old 10-22-2008, 02:45 PM
Championship Contender
View noddaz's Photo Album

Default Some help...

If you take a 6" section of track and cut 1" of the rail off of each end the result will give you a 4" sensor section which should be more than long enough to use... Of course you need to mount this at one of the fastest places on the track so you do not end up with stalled cars...
I hope this has been some help...

Scott
Old 10-22-2008, 03:39 PM
Club Racer

That's exactly what I needed to know... Thanks Scott!

Larry
Old 10-23-2008, 07:03 AM
International Racer
View buspor63's Photo Album

Can I assume that dead strip works because for the brief moment that the DC motor is not running it becomes a generator and sends a plulse to the timing system?
Old 10-23-2008, 07:45 AM
National Racer
View h0slot.ch's Photo Album

Not exactly...

I hope, the translation from German to English does not alter the basic meaning of my post: