Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Digital 132 - How low can voltage be set on VPS?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Digital 132 - How low can voltage be set on VPS?

Hello everyone,

I'm new to slot cars (aside from what my stepfather had 40yrs ago), and I'm gathering everything I need to put together a Carrera D132, 2 lane, 70' track.

I just received my 30V 10A Var DC PS that I will run into my 30352 CU and would like to know if I set the voltage really low would it cause damage to anything? People have asked about too high but I couldn't find anything about too low. I know at some point the cars won't move because of the magnets (and lack of power) but if I set it just above that point does it hurt anything?

3 of my 5 kids are young so I'd like to restrict the power till they get more experience.

We'll be running 6 to 7 cars, multiple lane changes, start light, double pit lane, 3 double wireless chargers and LED lighting so I figured I set my amperage around 6A.

Thanks in advance for the help,

James

At some point the CU will brown out and die. Probably not much below 10v, if even.
    Don't think of digital like analog, though. Use the options digital provides. Each car can be set to a level of speed, from 1-10. The 1 speed is usually slow enough that the car won't crash.

Comment

Thank you Mr. Flippant, I had no idea each cars speed can be controlled via the CU. Part of my problem is the majority of the research I've done has been on analog, I didn't know till a few days ago how different digital is. I obviously have a lot more to learn.

Do you think it was a waste of money to buy the VPS? My other purpose for it was to insure I had enough power to handle a 70' track, 7 cars, all the digital accessories and lighting.

James

Comment

A good variable voltage PSU is never a bad investment for a slot car hobbyist.

Comment

At least I feel better about that, thanks again!

Comment