Need info

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need info

I've been racing HO for 30 years and now I want to try 1/24th. Is there a website that explains all the different kinds of cars available? ( IE Tomy, lifelike Tyco) I would like to start racing my own cars and not borrowing other guys cars. I am 100% a newbie in this scale

I don't think there's a website dedicated to 1/24 scale, but it's worth looking at the Scaleauto Forum, here and the BRM Forum, here. I should mention that Scaleracing LLC, the importer and promoter of these brands, is Alan Smith who also owns SCI.

Off the top of my head, I don't think there are any of the major 'box set' type manufacturers providing 1/24 scale cars other than Carrera; and it's improbable that their offerings would be competitive, other than against other Carrera 1/24 cars. But they're great looking slot cars, and I think they do digital as well.

Comment

The Carrera 1/24 cars. These are all digital but with a flip of the switch on the bottom of the cars they run analog. The catalog is German but available at a lot of US retailers.
      https://www.carrera-toys.com/en/prod...ra-digital-124

If you want the low down on the Carrera 1/24 cars give me a holler and I'll share what I know. That's all I've run for 5 yrs now.
      Last edited by dw5555; 02-24-2020, 07:13 AM.

Comment

Since you mentioned not wanting to borrow other racers cars, this implies that there are 1/24 racers near you. Look at what they are racing, talk to them. Understand the rules that they race under, if you buy cars you want to be able to race against others with them. The Scale Auto cars can be expensive to start with but are a great bang for the buck as the chassis can be mounted up with many different classes of bodies and the motors can easily be swapped out also to meet class rules.