Aurora control plus controllers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aurora control plus controllers

Hi SCI fam, been a while.... anyhow I purchase these Aurora control plus controllers, and I want to make sure I'm getting the wiring right, I want to use the existing plug as I run 4 wall warts... I've never used a resistor or braking system before so I want to make sure that that works.
    thanks in advance

Keep it in the slot
    Tdady216

I am not familiar with the plugs that set type tracks use. This is how club tracks are wired.

Comment

AFX set controller plugs only have two wires, IIRC, white and black. And AFX power pack plugs are reversible, so presumably that feature would be eliminated by wiring for brakes. I'd imagine all set plugs have two wires, although I have never cut into Tyco or Lifelike ones.

Some of us with an all traction magnet fleet just snip the red wire and let the traction magnets do their thing. Obviously if running T-Jets one might WANT the red wire. I yield to people like Mr. RichD who has more knowledge about this in his little pinky than I will ever possess. Happy running!

Comment

I see that orange plug with two wires. The quick and easy thing to do is to put tape over the controller red wire and connect the black and white controller wires to the plug wires. In that case there will be no brake circuit. Most HO cars do not need any brakes. My controller has adjustable brakes and they can also be completely defeated. I have a few boxstock T-Jet cars that have relatively weak magnets and I run those with a touch of brakes, otherwise I leave the brakes off. You could add a brake circuit by connecting the red controller wire to the right hand track rail looking in the direction of travel. In that case you would have to be careful about how you plugged in, if you got the plug backwards you would have a dead short across the power supply.